New to this need some help please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SpareX

Tenderfoot
Mar 14, 2012
Kent
Hello every one my names Darren i am 23 and live in south Kent

i Would really like to get into wild camping and bushcraft in general, i have always loved camping since a kid we used to go to the new forest twice a year and camp with my parents
and i used to love it

but i would like to go one step more and get closer to nature with out a car load of equipment i would like to pack up a bag and some gear and go into the woods and camp out for a night or 2 maybe in the future

buts there are some things im worried about

i am not a total newbie when it come to camping in general with tents ect ive always hunted with air rifles never really stayed out the whole night though

my main concerns are how experienced do i need to be to get out and have ago alone ?
i understand i need loads of kit to do this and dont mind spending some money over a couple of months

but what are the basics i need to do this ? i have used fire lighter before and can strike them ok to make a fire

i dont want to sleep in a tent would like to use a tarp i think is this advisable ? with a hammock or on the floor ?

also what are people perceptions of a strange man camping in the local woods lol because most of the wooded area i know around my area which is Kent tn postcode are fairly public for dog walkers ect

also how do we stand with having knifes on us for bushcraft ?

and do i need to get some courses under my belt or can i learn as i go i do watch alot of youtube videos and read books if i do need to do some courses is there any where in kent i can do these ?