YA PSK thread...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Dec 18, 2021
Winchester
Hello guys, interested to compare notes on pocket survival kits.

I'm new to all this, but I'm a good researcher. I started with the modest 2oz. tobacco tin kit from Brian Hildreth's 70s Puffin book 'How To Survive', which is a part-rewrite for kids of his NZ military survival books. This pretty much aligns with other online sources but it's obviously old-school so I diverged a bit.

* I've gone with a plastic waterproof box; may rethink and get an alu mess tin.

* 'Firesteel' strikers weren't available when 'HTS' was written and I've substituted one for Mr. Hildreth's waterproofed matches

* I added a tiny kerosene lighter and a creditcard fresnel lens to cover the firelighting bases

* CRKT RSK obvs. and an AtomLight with elastic thread for headlight applications and pills (paracetomol and ibuprofen or similar) and a P38 can opener. But no nails.

* There's a guy on Etsy selling a minute 12cm fishing kit which I've substituted for Mr. H's fishing line

* Mr. H mentions permanganate. Not for kids, clearly. I've ordered a doll's house spoon for doling out microdoses -- my idea of a clever hack, although I bet loads of people disapprove of the chemical in question.

* Anyone got a cheap source of unlubricated condoms? Mr. H didn't mention this useful item, but it seems to me a better solution than a Ziploc.

Related questions comin' up on appropriate forum.

N.

Last edited:
Reactions: TeeDee

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
I have the book "How to Survive", it was my first book specifically on the subject of wilderness skills. I think that the exercise of creating a tin survival kit could be entertaining, but I think that generally speaking the kits are a waste of time in the real world.