whats your job? is it outdoor work? does it fit around bushcraft?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

4D_scumpunx

Nov 17, 2010
macclesfield
I was just thinking the other night before falling asleep as usual about the outdoors, camping, being out under the stars and was wondering how others fit it all around there work, or if they do work outdoors or something that closely relates to bushcraft, wood crafts, forestry, gardening?

so what does everybody do for work, careers?
I myself have just come out from working in a garden centre, now looking to try and get a job in the outdoors or working with wood, forestry work, gardening, etc etc
I am just looking at trying to get an apprentice job in joinery.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
I work in IT and have done for the last 13 years, I had plans to go to college and do a countryside management course and try to get with the FC or NT, with all these quangos getting quashed I'm just sitting tight for the time being and see how it pans out.

The way I look at it now is that I get my head down where I am but still make sure I get plenty of playtime each month, usually a trip up to Scotland or the Lakes.

Hopefully I'll get a change at some point but right now I can't afford to throw away a good career if there's nothing to go into. It's a shame but it's reality for me.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Canoe coach, magazine gear tester, walks writer for a mag, a bit of bushcraft instruction work, craft work ... and a little releif support work for Mencap.
You could say that bushcraft is my life - with a little work in around the edges :)
Mind you I am poor as a church mouse - but as happy as any can be!

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
I used to work outdoors for 22 years as a groundsman.