Essential item for inclusion in your survival kit

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Biker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie, this is my first post actually. I joined up last week and have spent hours here reading with interest a ton of stuff. Fascinating reading it has been too. Some of you blokes are really hard core. Makes me feel very "wannabe".

Me, well I just have a heathly interest in basic survival skills and of generally "being prepared". I'm the type of person who walks into a building and notes where the fire exits are, you get my drift? I try to go through life with a "what if" outlook and try to think of solutions and mentally, if not physically, be prepared for them.

Anyway getting back to that essential item I mentioned. Now some of you blokes might consider it bleedin' obvious, whereas others might not see the wood for the trees (excuse the pun) but as I've got on in life I find myself more and more dependant on one important thing.

My glasses.

Before I was 40 I didn't need them, they were the handy accessory I rarely needed to use. Nowadays I find myself dependant on them just to read anything. It's the close up stuff I have problems with, anything past 3 foot from my face I'm fine and it remains in focus... but that's 6 inches outside of my reach. :(

So at the risk of teaching you blokes how to suck eggs can I suggest inclusion of a cheapy pair of off the shelf glasses in a sturdy case in your kit, two pairs for double security. Just in case you lose your own in a stream or they fall down into a crevice in the glacier you're camping on.