Woodlore style knife, alternatives of forum crafters

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tallywhacker

Forager
Aug 3, 2013
United Kingdom
I am looking for a RM woodlore/bushcraft style knife in the upcoming future. Obviously without the price premium and waiting period.

I am not entirely sure what i want from blade design yet as i am just getting into the finer craft aspect of mooching around in the woods, but i am 'make the first buy count' type..

The above knives look about right compared to 'trash' blades i have used in the past; a good blade style and a decent handle to grab onto being what draw me to it (as well as the care that has gone into it). However, that is a lot of money for a first proper knife, so i am hoping for either a comparable recommendation of a more reasonably priced commercial variant or a maker that is renowned for making good replica's/variants of the above models. I should note i am looking for something significantly better than a mora, a real good bit of kit.

Something else that i am wandering is that 850g +/- is a LOT of weight for a small knife, a MK2 tora kukri is only 660 grams, built like a tank and rivals a small axe for slugging about. Are the RM style of blades absolute overkill in thickness or is the weight coming from elsewhere? Just, well, it is not exactly as if a MK2 kukri is a light duty piece of kit, it is a battle proven utility tool engineered over generations.