The T.A ....

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

novembeRain

Nomad
Sep 23, 2008
lincoln
Anyone know much about joining the T.A. and being in it? Frankly, I don't like reading the army's "bumf" about joining up, it's all a bit too "join the army - it's great"

I'm a lorry driver, class2, I got my license about a year ago but work's been pretty slow and it just seems to be getting worse with the state of our economy. Years ago, when I was training to be a mechanic, I went through a good chunk of the process of joining the regular army but decided not to bother in the end but I'm now thinking the T.A. might be worth doing.

I know the obvious, some day I might end up getting shot at in some godforsaken desert etc but there's more I want to know before I do anything at all;

One of the main reasons for joining would be to get my class one without paying for it - I've done the training and failed a couple of tests (narrowly) but I can't afford to try again at the moment, would it be something they'd want me to do as a matter of course?

I'm sure I read somewhere that you can do as much time as you like, i.e. not just odd weekends, so if work was quiet (I'm an agency driver, it's as and when) I could work pretty much full time for the army right?

do you also get some of the perks the regulars get, like dental care and use of a gym etc? What about housing, do they offer anything - like cheap rent on a house on base?

They say you can leave whenever you want, what's the catch?

Other than that, any other info without the B/S would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire