My first attempt at a hiking staff.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
This is work in progress and I welcome your feedback, comments and ideas.

This is my first attempt at a hiking staff or "that stick" as SWMBO has named it. It is a section from a piece of drift wood I found while out canoeing up in Scotland this year. It was at a very high tide mark. It was screaming out to be turned into something useful. It is a section from a small tree that had in places the remains of a reddish bark.

I decided the best section to use. It was a 7ft section and I wanted about 5ft so not much choice. I then spent many a happy hour at the loch shore, removing what bark remained, smoothing out the branch stubbs and rounding over the top end.

It has recieved a sanding since being home and a light oiling to show the colours and patterns.

Anyway on with the pictures.

4737717835_0fbd9d6be2_m.jpg

From the above photo is looks quite a straight piece but it does have a slight curve to it from the side.

4737719235_679b9173d5_m.jpg

The end grain. I am not sure what wood it is? any ideas? As I stripped off the bark the following marks/pattern was revealed.

4737715315_e70b19a3e6_m.jpg

4738348418_18665a4577_m.jpg

You can see the gentle curve in this photo.

4737712425_7db698cb7b_m.jpg

I just need to add a wrist loop at the top, leather or cordage?

As for the ground end I need to add a cap of some sort to save the end spliting or wearing away. Do I go for an Alpine style spike or rubber ferrule?

What other additions or useful features could be added?

caliban

Need to contact Admin...
Apr 16, 2008
edinburgh