Materials for knife making

cbrdave

Dec 2, 2011
South East Kent.
I am going to make some knives and would like some advice on sourcing materials, i would prefer to recycle material rather than buying in, any ideas would be greatfully received, i am a mechanical and machine engineer and have also done property maintenance for quite a few years so i am used to working with tools and different materials so hopefully wont be too hard to do (famous last words), although i will need to practice my sharpening techniques:)

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
If you want to make knives from recycled materials then have a look at doing them from old files.

I've seen some really nice examples made from them :)

Johnnyboy1971

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 24, 2010
Yorkshire
There used to be a range of knives that were made out of old files by a company called Ithica knives and they looked beautiful.

Files
Saw blades

Everything Mac

Nov 30, 2009
Scotland
Aye - old files are worth looking at.

Also try old circular saw blades, hacksaw blades (High speed steel - wicked edge) and spring steel.

All the best
Andy

cbrdave

Dec 2, 2011
South East Kent.
Thanks mac, got some circular saw blades as well, looks like i'll be in my workshop at the weekend having a play, will i have to anneal or harden them once shaped and sharpened?

lannyman8

Jan 18, 2009
Dark side of the Moon
as Mac said, they may not need heat treating if you are carefull when cutting out and shaping, but probably best to anneal as it will save your tools and make the job much easyer...

a blow torch should do the job though, heat it up till its bright red / dark orange and cool as slow as possible, then your good to go, file sand shape etc as desired then Heat Treat and temper....

hope this helps.

chris.

Harb505

Forager
Nov 22, 2011
Lincolnshire