Martindale golok vs Tora kukri (heavy)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

KAE1

Settler
Mar 26, 2007
suffolk
A trip to the woods this morning to try out the Martindale # 2 golok. I needed to clear a bit more scrub, willow and alder that has grown in and along a ditch and also cut myself a few hazel poles for stringing up some camo netting for my badger watching antics.

I have spent a fair amount of time putting an edge on the golok as out of the box it was dull. It took longer to get a good edge that it had on my kuk.I must add that I am no expert but have been pleased with what I've achieved with the kukri.

The golok felt good in the hand and nicely balanced, I have used the kuk a few times and find the sharp angles (the gold diamond shape) at the bottom of the handles uncomfortable as it digs into my hand after constant use.
Unfortunately the golok struggled on 2" poles where the kuk will go through with one well aimed sweep, removing the branches of the cut poles was no problem for either.
After twenty minutes it became clear that for 1" - 3" poles the kukri was far superior.

On to the hazel and these were good stools that I wanted to conserve. The kukri easily removed 1"- 1.5" nice and cleanly but again the golok struggled and required me to clean up afterwards with the saw. Once cut the hazel was limbed, cut to size and one end sharpened. Once more the kukri was a clear winner.
Finally I thought I'd do a few feather sticks, no prob for the kuk, the golok struggled.

Conclusion. Perhaps its my sharpening technique but the golok has not lived up to its expectations. Any hints?

Nice sunrise
P1010504.jpg

Example of what I was clearing.
P1010517.jpg

The golok struggled to cut cleanly
P1010514.jpg

Branches no problem
P1010516.jpg

The kukri cuts very cleanly
P1010526.jpg

Feather stcks no probs for kukri