GPS receivers

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Adi007

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 3, 2003
The geocaching thread over at http://www.bushcraftuk.net/community/showthread.php?t=1101 has meant that I've had a few PMs relating to GPS receivers. As there seems to be a lot of interest, I thought I'd create this thread so that you can post your GPS related questions - I've been using GPS receivers for over 5 years extensively in recreation for a variety of applications and I'll do my best to answer your questions!
I look forward to your posts!

Martyn

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 7, 2003
staffordshire
www.britishblades.com
OK, I'll start with an obvious question, which is probably rather stupid, but as I know absolutely nothing about them, it seems logical to me. Which one is the best? Accuracy, reliability, robustness, price etc.

I might be persuaded.

familne

Dec 20, 2003
Fife
Good idea Adi!

I've been using GPS in my work for the past seven years or more. I have tried several models but keep coming back to Garmin. For me they are the most compatible with other computer software (GIS etc) and equally relaible in the field. I like the way you can automatically update the software from the Garmin website without having to buy additional programs or send the unit off e.g Silva. I've recently got hold of the Geko 301 which has all the features of the Etrex Summit but is also EGNOS enabled - It's an excellent unit, very easy to use, small and compact. Garmin customer service is also excellent (unlike some others e.g. Silva)

There is also a thread on the OM forum regarding GPS:
http://www.outdoorsmagic.com/forum/forummessages/mps/dt/4/UTN/3682/srchdte/0/V/1/SP/

Adi007

Sep 3, 2003
Good question Martyn!