Complete budget kit.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Rhapsody

Forager
Jan 2, 2005
Aldershot, nr. Guildford, UK
If you were to assemble a new kit for the lowest price possible, what items would you be sticking in your (cheap) rucksack? I figured this might be both a fun thing to think about and a useful resource for thoe of us with light wallets!

Here would be (and practically is :D) mine:

Knife - Frosts Mora - £10 approx. I don't expect there to be a lot of deviation from this one, but other ideas would be welcome.

Chopping - Small army Golok - I got mine for £15. Good and cheap. 'nuff said.

Sleeping Bag - Surplus '58 Pattern bag - £40 seems average.

Rucksack - I'm no expert, but a Web-Tex PLCE is what I use and seems to have been the best thing for the money - £80 <harsh>. This probably isn't the best budget option, but it's certainly a good price for what it is.

Shelter - Cheapest Basha you can find - £10 seems to be the lowest for these. It's a basha, what more do you need?

Cooking - Swedish army Trangia mess set - £10 to £20. A meths stove, a frying pan and a billy can all in one convenient (and cheap) package.

Fire - Scout model Firesteel - £6 or £7. Smaller than the regular sort, but does the job just as well. More useful than if you spent it's price on matches or a zippo, so the firesteel stays even in the budget kit.

Water - Coke bottles! - Free (practically)! It's a little-known fact, but bottles from other drinks work just as well.

Eating utensils - Carve a spoon! - Will cost you a small tin of elbow grease. It's what you bought your knife for, anyway!

Anyway, what would your budget kit be? Feel free to add/remove categories as you wish.

alick

Settler
Aug 29, 2003
Northwich, Cheshire