Burning patterns in to wood and green wood?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pibbleb

Settler
Apr 25, 2006
Sussex, England
Hi

I've been carving jewellrey for a couple of months and most of my work I've stained the wood or varnished.

Now I've seen a few things where people seem to have burnt a pattern in to the wood. I've had a go but with no success what's so ever is anyone aware of a tutorial I could look at or can you give me any tips.

Secondly the carving that I've been doing is all out of fallen or chopped wood. The wood, usually birch is always old. I understand carving in green wood is a different experience and I'm sure the wood effect is usually nicer, but where do you guys get your fresh wood. I'm not to happy just popping along to the local woods and lopping off a couple of branches to feed a hobby :eek: so I'm looking for a little guidence on how to do this a little more above board.

Cheers for your help guys.

Pib

falling rain

Native
Oct 17, 2003
Woodbury Devon
In my usual haunts the forestry chaps quite often trim or cut down trees and I can find cut green wood there. I've got a great source of cedar and ash at the moment. I only take the odd branch from this cut wood to carve a spoon with etc so no harm done. And as normal practice leave no trace.

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
Burning the wood sounds like pyrographyand it's usually done with an implement that could pass for a soldering iron, you can get all different nibs for them. For more advice do a search for pyrography. There’s lots of sites like this…

As for wood, it's one of those ask about things. It might be worth calling up your local tree surgeons and asking them if they've got any about, I know that some of them are more than happy to get rid of wood.

falling rain

Native
Oct 17, 2003