Waterproofing a Leather Tankard

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

OwenoWent

Feb 3, 2011
South West Wales
Hi everybody. I'm new to all of this and stumbled on this website thanks to the marvels of google.

Basically, I have recently acquired a leather tankard - however it doesn't quite hold water. It will for a while before it slowly starts seeping out through the seams at the bottom of the vessel.

Through doing a bit of research (and smelling inside the tankard) I've discovered beeswax to be the solution. However, I haven't done anything like this before, and I'm scared of ruining the looks and/or function of my tankard.

I've bought a block of pure beeswax - but any advice that you could give on the correct way to apply it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Owen.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Melt the wax in a double pan (bain Marie) - ie a glass bowl in a pan of boiling water and then pour a bit into the (warmed) tankard and swirl it around to cover the seams. If you only have a small amount of wax you can use a cheap paintbrush to apply the wax more accurately....
Things to careful of - do not have the wax too hot or it will "cook" the leather and it will shrink and crinkle and wreck everything! Do not over-warm the leather either - same result!
Oh - and welcome to the site :) Say hello in the "welcomes" area if you like.
Where in SW Wales are you - I am up near Cardigan :)

OwenoWent

Feb 3, 2011
South West Wales
Fantastic. Diolch, John. I won't give it a go for a few days - but I will report back when I've had the time to do it.

Just a few other queries. How would you suggest warming the leather? Low low heat in the oven? Also, when you say swirl the wax around, do you disgard any excess, or leave it to harden inside the vessel?