Watch for a child

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Iona

Nomad
Mar 11, 2009
Ashdown Forest
Hi there!

After a little help... The childs birthday is looming, and as well as his knife, I'd really like to surprise him with a watch. He was promised one last year by his father, and neither he, nor the present have materialised since... Needless to say, he was heart broken. I have NO knowledge of them however so when I looked on e-bay I glazed over immediately...

So these are the requirements:

Bomb proof (or at least 8 year old proof)

Doesn't have to be a childs but does have to fit his small wrist or be easy to modify

Compass? Not certain how likely that one is, but he'd love it. :rolleyes:

Cheap enough that he can take it out and use it without tooo much worry about it getting lost.

Not exactly bushcraft I guess, but I need help!! :eek:

Thanks in advance guys...

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Hi Iona,
Sorry to hear of the no-show's... not nice when a kiddie is involved, though I'm sure the wee one will pull through and love You all the more.

What about a Seiko? OK not the sexiest watch in the world, though never needs a battery as it's an automatic winding thingamybob, not to large, easily taken down strap. I had two, one which I bought for my 18th birthday and another that seems to have gone walkabout. The first is still going strong despite a slightly bent crown which makes changing the date a pain. Doesn't do a lot else but but is accurate...just take it off before sleep to kep it in time, and has been many exciting places.
Not sure of the price, last time I looked about £50 - £60 quid.
Nice simple watch that wont go wrong.
TTFN
Goatboy.

Iona

Nomad
Mar 11, 2009
Ashdown Forest
See, not to my taste, which probably means it's PERFECT. :D