Ventile or Gore Tex

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

TobyH

Forager
Apr 4, 2006
Deepest, Darkest Suffolk
I'm looking for the ultimate water proof outdoor coat. I've currently got a Berghaus Gore Tex Jacket that is pretty good. The only problem is when it' s been in the rain for a long time and appears to be wet on the inside. Whether this is sweat or water I'm not sure, but considering it's supposed to breath I'm not 100% happy.

So the question is: Should I look for a later (read better) Gore Tex jacket or go to Ventile. I have no experience of Ventile so your views would be appreciated. I tend to use the jacket for everything and it needs to be 100% waterproof even after extended use....

gregorach

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 15, 2005
Edinburgh
Ventile is not exactly 100% waterproof, in the sense that people generally use the word.

Goretex does not breathe well when wet. In fact, nothing breathes that well in heavy rain. Once ambient humidity nears 100%, breathability is moot.

You pays your money and you takes your choice. Although I hear Paramo is very good...

scoops_uk

Nomad
Feb 6, 2005
Jurassic Coast
You may be expecting a bit too much Toby, breathability relies on there being a vapour gradient. If the jacket is wetted-out on the outside or conditions are very humid breathability will be limited whatever you are wearing.

You could try paramo which works differently, but a lot of people find it too warm.

I have no personal experience of ventile, but some swear by it and others think it's like wearing damp cardboard.

Basically it's a case of finding what works best for you, there is no "ultimate" as such.

Scoops

Dougster

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 13, 2005
The banks of the Deveron.