Vegetarian lightweight food, important ingredients?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Lasse

Nomad
Aug 17, 2007
Belgium
A couple of months ago, I decided to be a semi-vegetarian (veggy with sometimes fish) but now that I'm thinking about a next trip (a day or 5 in the mountains) I'm starting to wonder what I'll be eating... Up to now my diet on trekking trips has usually been a lot of meat, bread, pasta and rice. As always, I'm carrying everything on my back so weight is an issue... Being a beginner I don't really know which ingredients are most interesting, they need to provide quite a lot of energy and everything else I'd need when hiking all week long. So far I know dried mushrooms and nuts are a good choice, but that can't be enough for a healthy diet right? (in combination with bread, rice, pasta and couscous)

So can anyone help me find some lightweight, healthy, veggy ingredients on which I can live (and sport) comfortably while in the outdoors?

Thanks in advance!
Lasse

SimonM

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 7, 2007
East Lancashire
www.wood-sage.co.uk
Over view of what you need and why:

• Carbohydrates will provide you with the "instant" energy that you require. The more active you are, the more carbs you need. Where possible stay wholegrain as these are digested slower giving you an even release of energy. e.g.Porridge oats for breakfast, pasta for main courses
  • Protein is needed to repair damage to your body, and for growth. You can get this from nuts, pulses, eggs & fish.
  • Fat is used as a store of energy, for when you don't get enough carbs in your diet. Get this from butter, cooking oil & cream.
  • Vitamins & minerals are only needed in small amounts, and going short for a week shouldn't do you any lasting harm. Get these from milk, fruit, vegetables, salt & seafood.