UCO candle lanterns in tents

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
I've just recently got hold of a uco candle lantern in a trade.

Now I've always improvised in the past with a long life candle in an old can but got the UCO after reading on here that someone used their's in a tent and observed that they had less condensation with one presumable because of he heat rather than the ventilation you need when using one in tent. Now the thing is, I tried it out tonight and the heat coming off the top was unbelievable:):) and I was really surprised. When I studied social anthropology and read and watched the innuit with their oil lamps keeping the temp up a bit in their shelters, I'm assuming the same works with the uco. In bothies I've lit 10 or so tea lights and it's kept a room well above freezing in the winter.

Does anyone have any experience of using them in their tent and does it really make a big difference in temp and or reduce condensation on your flysheet?

WS

Last edited:

maddave

Jan 2, 2004
Manchester UK
I quite often use on in the tent. Make sure you leave it in the porch, don't bring it into the inner so the carbon monoxide can escape (small amount0. In winter it makes a difference but only a few degrees. I think it's more psychological, makes your tent "cozy". 1 make sure it's in a safe place 2. extinguish before sleeping

Laurentius

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 13, 2009
Knowhere
I quite often use on in the tent. Make sure you leave it in the porch, don't bring it into the inner so the carbon monoxide can escape (small amount0. In winter it makes a difference but only a few degrees. I think it's more psychological, makes your tent "cozy". 1 make sure it's in a safe place 2. extinguish before sleeping