toys an observation

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

troyka

Forager
Being a newbie here, ive been reading a lot of the posts and what strikes me is how incredibly expensive all the favourite toys are, Knives at over £100 torches for more than £70 and countless other bits of kit.
I guess I'm just surprised a primitive lifestyle site has such a consumerist base to it.
This is not meant to upset anyone just my observation.

ian

Stuart

Sep 12, 2003

We welcome everyone from those who like to buy all the shiniest kit to those who make everything they use themselves.

But everyone here is interested in the knowledge of ancient skills, for me bushcraft is blending new technology with ancient skills to get the best of both worlds, I am happy to buy a knife, but I have also made my own knives from both steel and from flint.

What important is not what you carry, but the knowledge that allows you to go without should you need too

Kit lust is part of human nature, I wonder how many pelts Mr prime was prepared to trade for a shiny new obsidian knife to replace his flint one? If a San bushman can get his hands on a superb quality knife he wouldn’t hesitate, the difference is that if he lost it he possesses the knowledge do without.

Kit is not a bad thing, dependency on it is

BorderReiver

Mar 31, 2004
Norfolk U.K.
The thing to remember Troyka is that these expensive toys are TOTALLY UNNECESSARY.

Nice to have and play with,but unnecessary all the same.

jamesdevine

Settler
Dec 22, 2003
Skerries, Co. Dublin
As has been said not all this expensive kit is neccesary but some items I have found you need to spend money on like good boots, bag and sleeping bag the rest is just gravy as they say.

Really do think it is human nature. My wife is no different when it comes to shoes and make up then I am with kit.

James