Starter 12 gauge Shotgun

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

davidpingu

Forager
Nov 3, 2012
Cwmbran
I hope I've put this in the right place. Apologies if not.

It goes without saying there are plenty of people on here that use a shotgun.

I'm fairly new to it and have no permissions. Currently my only experience is at clays which I'm getting better and better at.

Currently using a friends Revo O/U when we go and I'd originally planned to buy it off him when my ticket comes through as he now also owns a Winchester. My problem is I can't spend a lot on one because financial commitments are tighter than ever. £350 - £400 would be what he'd be asking for for the Revo and ideally I'd like to spend about half that.

It would be mostly for some clay target practice but ideally good for game too should the opportunity arise.

So am I asking too much to only pay say £150 - £200 for one or can it be done? I see plenty on gun trader for that money but have no idea if they are any good or not. Whatever I get needs to be reliable.

If I'm wasting my time I'd rather know and I just won't buy one at all for the foreseeable future but if my budget is reasonable and people can give me some to look out for then it would be most appreciated.

Not really bothered what type, U/O, side by side or pump action but would rather not a single break barrel. Needs to be able to shoot two shots ideally.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
No idea what the prices are like on your side of the Atlantic; but if you're buying it from a friend, might he be willing to let you make payments rather than lump sum?

British Red

Dec 30, 2005
Mercia