nordic runes

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

hardr004

Forager
Jan 16, 2010
chichester
I have read that they were used up until the dark ages, but i was wondering how you read words aloud. do you say each indevidual letter?

forestwalker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Runes as a system of writing up until the dark ages? Only if you count the dark ages as starting around 1800, or even later. As a dominant system of writing they lost out here in Scandinavia sometime around 1100 or so.

They are letters, used to write words. Outside early reading class, how many read out each letter when reading?

forestwalker

Yes, I suppose I should just jump onto the gravy train really but I make my living from education, so I just hate misinformation.

Well, being a teacher myself I can't rreally fault your attitude in this case. But sometimes I wonder if I do the right thing? Abandon ethics, write some speculative books, get on TV, retire. Some days that plan sounds tempting.

Wayland

Hárbarðr
This is the Germanic "Elder" Futhark dated to around 200ad (600 years before the Vikings.)

Elder-Runes.jpg

The Germanic settlers in England later adapted it into the Anglo Saxon Futhorc

Anglo-saxon.jpg

While the Vikings adapted it into the "Younger" Futhork

Younger-Runes.jpg

(The runes bottom left are abbreviations and those bottom right were adopted when the Vikings came back into contact with the Anglo Saxons.)

The differences reflect dialectal and linguistic changes that developed in different regions and peoples.

There is more information here.

dave53

On a new journey
Jan 30, 2010
wales
excellent infomation wayland you learn something new on this forum everyday thankyou regards dave

Indoorsout

Settler
Apr 29, 2008
Brisbane, Australia