Large blade physics question.

Laurentius

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 13, 2009
Knowhere
This is something that has been taxing my mind of late being as I am not an engineer and have no more than an O level in physics from more than forty years ago.

Given that a long curved blade (unless it is double edged) is usually sharpened on one side only ..... which kind is the most effective from a mechanical point of view (science not folklore).

Bill hooks, kukri's, slashers, scythes and some machetes are sharpened on the inside of the curve.

Parangs, alos some machetes, sabres and samurai swords are sharpened on the outside.

I would guess it comes down to a question of a little more than which side it is sharpened on, and the weight distribution would have an effect too, but ultimately I expect the effectiveness for an equally sharpened artefact. (that is to say with the same grind) would come down to what degree of force can be brought to bear on the object for how long.

I have personally used more blades that are sharpened on the inside, eg bill hook for snedding, scythe for mowing, and machete of long bill hook configuration for clearing relatively soft vegetation. Are these the most effective and if so why?

It does make me wonder, because parangs are often cited as effective cutting tools, but they are sharpened on the outside so far as I am aware (I have never used one)

sunndog

May 23, 2014
derbyshire
I'll chuck my clumsy two penneth in.....but side step the physics :D

The difference between the two blade styles you describe (curved and re-curve?) to me is a reflection of what they are meant to cut

Take an axe for example (curved) it is shaped in this way so that a smaller surface area is first in contact with the wood to enable it to bite deeper