just a quick question for anyone who knows about wood

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rimmer

Apr 1, 2010
eastsussex
hi all i just got the neatest little axe from the local market for pennies:D but it needs a new handel it would make a wonderfull poket axe but im totaly rubish at seasoning timber god only knows what im doing wrong :(anyway i was hopping one of you rearly nice people would be kind enougth to point me in the direction of company that sells ready seasoned ash or beach as i realy want to do the job myself im not an expert in carving but have made handles in the past without to meany probloms and although perchasing timber is a bit of a cheat i think its the best comprmise thankyou very much for any help recived

<<Edit>>The problom is i cant get timber to season it always craks and splits so im looking for somewhere to purchess a peice of timber that fits the bill and was hopping one of you nice fellows could point me in the right direction of a company that deals in beach or ash. which i know is a bit of a cheat but i dont want to harvist the perfict pice just to watch it split and becom useless i know i could just perchass a handle made to order but i want to do the job myself thankyou to everyone that reads this post and for any advice your able to give<<End edit>>

Last edited by a moderator:

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
As spandit said use hickory (or ash might be more available there) If you really want to carve one yourself, there should be seasoned wood at your local lumber shop or DIY store.

Last edited:

hobbes

Forager
Aug 24, 2004
Devon, UK
Who says it's a cheat?! It's your axe: do what you like! It wants to be well seasoned anyway, or you'll soon find the axe-head coming loose.