How do you carry your edged tools?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

davidpingu

Forager
Nov 3, 2012
Cwmbran
I'm in a bit of a predicament. There's probably a simple answer but I don't know what it is so I'm hoping you can help.

I'm completely new to bushcraft and I've only just started accumulating a few odds and ends over the last few weeks.

My most recent purchases were some edged tools, namely the Mora 2012 and the Bahco Laplander.

On getting out and using them I came across a big problem which is carrying them. They get packed in my bergen till we set up a camp and then they come out ready for use but the problem was nothing felt right about carrying them. I do have combat trousers with fairly deep pockets but these were useless under my waterproof trousers. I had no belt to thread them on and none of the pockets in my coat were deep enough to secure them in. I actually nearly lost my laplander when it fell out of my side coat pocket whilst leaning over and it dropped in to a nearby stream. It was only when I had looked everywhere else for it I realised it must have been in there. The water was murky so it was a lot of guess work but luckily I eventually found it!

After that I wouldn't let either tool out of my sight so ended up just carrying them in my hands which limited my freedom of movement. I like to keep my hands free!

So please can you all give me an idea of how you carry your knives and saw's in particular? I do have an army issue belt which the saw could fit on by its leather stap but I think it would sway about to much, knock at my legs and get caught up on stuff so that doesn't feel right. Also the Mora has a nice little sheath with belt loop but its not a big enough loop to clear the chunky plastic fastener of the belt. So can anyone help me out please?