homemade folding bowsaw

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bearman

Jul 18, 2010
kent
Hi Guys!!

Im new to BCUK and this is my first post so i thought i'd share a few bits i've made recently. I really wanted a folding bow saw but after seeing them on a certain website for £80 i thought-hold on-how hard can it be to make one? the answer-not very. I made the saw from an old 2x4 i found in the garage and a cheapie bow blade from the hardware store-total cost? £3.75! take that capitalism!!!!!

The knife i made from bits ordered online and is my first attempt.

IMG_20110302_165702.jpgIMG_20110302_185442.jpgIMG_20110302_175518.jpgIMG_20110301_130228.jpgIMG_20110301_134648.jpg

bearman

Jul 18, 2010
kent
That looks good bearman, did you follow plans or decide the dimensions yourself ? for the bow saw.

I saw a few online and just kinda guessed and made it up as i went along, used it yesterday, works well just need to bring the blade a bit closer to the crossbar and she'll be spot on :) i can measure it out if you are thinking about making one?

Biker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nice looking bowsaw. Please take this in the spirit that it's given but the crossbar really ought to be lower so that the windlass is able to get a good tension on the fulcrum and tighten up that blade. (Sorry for the technical jargon there)

I've made a bowsaw of my own and the only criteria I used was the length of the blade. Everyting else was pure guesswork and what looked right to the eye of the beholder. I also figured I didn't need that deep a cut, because if I ever have to cut through a 10inch diameter log I could get away with a 5 inch gap between blade and crossbar I could just turn the log over and cut from the other direction. Problem solved.