Hand Knitted Beach Combed Shell Bracelet

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Earthgirl

Forager
Nov 7, 2012
Wales
Hello all this is my first attempt at this and I'm rather pleased with the way it's turned out. I've been collecting these shells on our local beaches for years always meaning to turn them into something.

Now I just have to figure a way of fastening it onto my wrist :)

Thanks for looking

IMG_4989_zpsc0f3b368.jpg

IMG_4992_zpsfa57223d.jpg

IMG_4996_zps36c093bf.jpg

Last edited:

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
That's really lovely :D
You could use a wee bit of velcro? or weave in some knitting elastic over the last few rows at both ends and pull them together with it ?

I've a huge jar load of wee shells and though they're very pretty and interesting all I ever did was stitch some of my hand spun and dyed nettle yarn into a seaweedy necklace with some of the little cowries. You're being much more creative :D

atb,
M

Earthgirl

Forager
Nov 7, 2012
Wales
Thanks both :eek:

It was much easier than I thought it was going to be. I knitted it on small 13 knitting needles using a pearl darning thread.

IMG_4997_zps53041661.jpg

I've got loads more shells left and I am actually wondering if there would be a market for this type of bracelet...

Lou

Settler
Feb 16, 2011
the French Alps
twitter.com
Oh, I used it have a bracelet like this when I was younger I loved it as it reminded me of the sea! It's is so beautiful. Thanks for posting, I think you would be able to sell a few of these for sure :)

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
That's very nice indeed; and I bet it sounds good when you move your wrist, too..................Cool!................................atb mac

Earthgirl

Forager
Nov 7, 2012
Wales