Foggy footing and a helping hand

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Van-Wild

Feb 17, 2018
UK
I'm attempting a night out once a month for the year. It's my challenge for myself. This trip happened in January and a good friend at work asked if they could come along when I told him what I had planned. My friend is a complete novice to the outdoors and after much discussion he assembled a budget gear list for his very first overnight in the hills!

Knowing that this trip shouldn't be a fast paced thrashing I poured over the maps to put together a route that wasn't too physically demanding (my friend has a fair few aches and pains from spending most of his earlier years as a mechanic), but equally give him a good introduction into this wild camping malarkey. It needed to be enjoyable and interesting, not a slog!

I planned the route, arranged for him to meet me at my house, gave hints and tips about packing etc and got everything ready. We arrived in the Peaks and parked up the van in a reasonably popular spot. My friend was dead keen to get going, but being equally keen to measure the pace, I took my time in lacing up my boots, filling water bottles and chatting about what lay ahead. The route began along a wooded valley, steep sided but with the path easy going we meandered along the river, chatting away. We came across a pair of ultralight campers setting up their tent very early on, and with the clouds gathering, I could see the question on my friends face. Keeping the banter going I said we've a way to go just yet, and camping so low down is a bit frowned upon, plus I had promised a spectacular site towards the end of the day!

076d343ed2fce181d5df9cf87178e6f5.jpg