Full moon over RA

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

RovingArcher

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 27, 2004
Monterey Peninsula, Ca., USA
I noticed how beautiful the full moon was, so I got out the camera and took a few photos with it, varying the settings cause I'm still learning on it. Anyways, here's what I ended up with.

moon0036rp.jpg

RovingArcher

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 27, 2004
I'm using a Panasonic DMC-fz20 digital with a big leica zoom lens and 5 megapixel sensor. I'd like to get a nice D-SLR by either Nikon or Canon, but I hear Minolta has one with a built in Image Stabilizer, which the Panasonic I'm using also has and I need it from old war wounds of life, I shake a bit when I get into the picture taking possition and the stabilizer really helps to smooth it all out. ;)

JonnyP

Oct 17, 2005
Cornwall...
Fz 20 is a superb camera.......A full moon has so much glow that it is hard to take a good shot of it, I think you did a good shot there RA. Try taking a shot of the moon when it is only half covered and you will get some amazing detail, esp if your on max zoom 12x, with the camera set up on a tripod and on timer, to totaly eliminate any shake. When you zoom in again on your pc, you will be amazed............Jon

Ps.....The minolta dynax (maxim) is a lot of camera and a local pro I know uses one and is very pleased with it, but it is a lot of money and you have to spend out again on all the lenses. He uses a 500mm lense which cost him £2000. Your lense in the panasonic is 432mm on maximum and is still f2.8, thats fast. With an slr you also have a lot more kit to carry around. I am not trying to put you off buying one, I have just gone from slr to a sony h1, (similar to yours) and I find it is all I need, though I would like to have a manual focus like on yours.......Jon

RovingArcher