cook set and mess tins- whats your choice?

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London
I am just starting out on this so I have the good fortune to be able to ask you guys.

I am looking for a cookset and mess tins/plate/bowl. I have looked around and found bits but not a complete set that suits, what do you use and why?

I must add that i dont want cheap teflon in my food and dont like the idea of aluminium. Ally is associated with alzhiemers disease and at my age i need all the help I can get! So I guess its stainless or titanium. Whats your thoughts on lexan plates/bowls do they keep food warm?

Let rip guys and maybe we can design the definative kit.

S
:thinkerg: :Thinkingo

Graham_S

Squirrely!
Feb 27, 2005
Saudi Arabia
i tend to go for the zebra billy can. i cook in it and the steamer insert makes a good plate. it's stainless steel so no worries there. i don't like titanium as i find it doesn't transfer heat evenly and tends to burn food easily. not a problem if you're just boiling water, but my cooking tends to be a little more complex :D

Wayland

Hárbarðr
I use two 12cm Zebra billies for my general cook kit and a 10cm one for my light weight kit.

To lighten it further I've removed the handle and replaced it with a braided wire bail.

I've also replaced the lid with an aluminium one from an old pan set and from the same set I use the shroud of a solid fuel burner.

esbit.jpg

This is then surrounded with a wind shield which curls up inside the pot.

windshield.jpg

light-weight.jpg

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London
Both ideas sound good. My problem is I am fairly fastidious about eating! ie i dont want to eat out of a frying pan full of grease etc. I know this goes against the grain of some purists ie I only eat off of a birch bark plate then use it as lavatory paper after etc, etc :lmao: But there some things that matter, if you think I am odd I know a chap who only will only wear new white socks.... Now he is odd (sorry Gavin) oops!