Camera recommendation

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Lynx

Nomad
Jun 5, 2010
Wellingborough, Northants
I am interested in buying a digital camera suitable for nature photography and I guess including some form of zoom lens. I know very little about photography beyond pointing and shooting and so something relatively simple to use would be good. Would not want to spend more than say £150 ish.

....recommendations anyone?

gregor-scott

Nomad
Apr 26, 2010
bournemouth
panasonic lumix tz20 is what I have, I think it's classed as a compact slr, great camera, it can be used as a point and shoot or it has the many settings and functions of a more serious slr camera if needs be like 21x zoom, I started playing about and learning how to use all the functions and it's produced some great piccies. I think we paid £190 so a bit over budget but well worth it IMHO. ps HD video too!

Lynx

Nomad
Jun 5, 2010
panasonic lumix tz20 is what I have, I think it's classed as a compact slr, great camera, it can be used as a point and shoot or it has the many settings and functions of a more serious slr camera if needs be like 21x zoom, I started playing about and learning how to use all the functions and it's produced some great piccies. I think we paid £190 so a bit over budget but well worth it IMHO. ps HD video too!

Thanks; I will check it out.

brancho

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 20, 2007
Whitehaven Cumbria
The Tz20 is god for the money but dont expect to rival Pro Nature photographers with it as the budget is at least a factor of 10 too low

cbr6fs

Native
Mar 30, 2011
Athens, Greece
Looked into this myself recently and i've ordered a Canon SX40, for me it offered the best features together with quality of pics.

Canon_SX40_350.jpg

35x zoom, full 1080 video support, CMOS sensor etc etc