Basha vs. Tarp => Any difference?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

robotchicken80

Tenderfoot
Nov 12, 2012
Verden (Germany)
Hello again,

I was taking a look at a surplus' website and I saw a Basha (from the Australian Army I recall). It looks exactly like a tarp to me, but I am no expert...:confused:

Is there any difference between the two?

Thanks

Toni

Miyagi

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 6, 2008
South Queensferry
Basha is what the diggers (Australians) call it.

Way back in the day, we used our poncho to create a bivi (bivouac) or basha. Depending on the Regiment or mob you were in, dictated whether you called it a basha or a bivi. The phrases "basha up" or "bivi up" or "laager up" were all used interchangeably.

Nowadays DPM sheets are issued to create a basha (or bivi) and are known as DPM basha's when you see them written about.

Tarps are larger in most cases and are the civilian version of DPM bashas.

Hope this helps.

Liam

Last edited:

carabao

Forager
Oct 16, 2011
hove
A basha is an army term to make a shelter, like most army phrases, slang we took from service overseas for example dobi is a Indian word for laundry, chit is I.d card or pass from the French chit an lieu, laarger we coined from the Boer war and means to form your wagons in a circle for defence and we use this phase when mechanised or on foot. Basha comes from the Malay campaign back in the 50s and means shelter.