Why do bushcraft and survival skills?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

backpacker

Forager
Sep 3, 2010
Eastbourne, East Sussex
I work in the Construction industry and I have been practicing Bushcraft and survival Techniques from a young age, But a lot of the lads keep giving me grief about Bushcraft and Survival Skills, They think people like us are wierdo's! because they say that we have plenty food and technology you don't need those skills in this day and age! with that one lunch break I had a big debate with the lads and said what would you do if the lights went out tomorrow? no power, no mobiles phones, Ipads, computers, transport the list went on! Telling them this could happen within twenty four hours giving them numerous amount of different scenario's.
In the end I picked 8 lads to take on the challenge off a long weekend Survival, I took them to my friends farm where he has a woodland, before they started I had taken all there mobile phones, mathches, lighters and any food and gave them a knife and fire steel between two a litre of water and a large baked bean tin to use as a billycan, Gave them the scenario of how they were where they were and said to them Survive, all I kept hearing them say Was Ray mears this and Bear Gryills that! it took them hours to light a fire, let alone finding water and making it safe to drink, as for foraging to find something to eat was poor, I had to step in to help them out and in the end they had a comfortable night, by the time we had completed the weekend, we had a debrief and could understand how much effort they had to put in just to survive a weekend! out of the 8 lads that took on the challenge I now teach 6 them the techniques on a regular basis.

Now they understand why us wierdo's as they put it, Do what we do! Happy days :cool:

cranmere

Settler
Mar 7, 2014