Which winter clothing do I need?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dirty Karlos

Forager
Oct 16, 2007
Hull
www.karlholtby.com
Hi all. I've been into all sorts of sports and activities over the years (mainly MTBing and road cycling), and I have MTB'ed throughout winter on the NY Moors.
However, I am getting more and more into going up the big hills and mountains of the Lakes, Wales and Scotland. I would like to start hill/mountain walking right through winter which is something that I have never done before.
I am wondering what type of clothing to go for, I guess I need the following, firstly:-

1. An outer coat, warm enough for the big hills and waterproof.
2. Trousers, again suitable for mountains in winter.
3. Boots

I have many other layers, base, fleece etc. Also, re boots, I am in the market for a new pair. Not sure whether to go for 3 season or full winter?

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
1. An outer coat, warm enough for the big hills and waterproof.