Tree camping, does anyone do it?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pastymuncher

Nomad
Apr 21, 2010
The U.K Desert
Does anyone here camp/sleep in trees.
I'm not talking about tying a hammock to them at ground level, more high level camping on portaledges etc. Obviously requires climbing gear and a knowledge of how to use it, which I have btw.
I've seen a couple of websites in the U.S. that talk about it, but I've not heard of anybody in the U.K.
There are some nice big Beech trees nearby that I fancy having a go at.

This is just for recreational purposes before anyone starts talking about environmental protesters and the like.

TJRoots

Nomad
Jul 16, 2009
East sussex
oh god just the idea terrifies me, i'm not good with heights, that wouldnt be a problem if i was VERY securely strapped in but i also have a major problem with being restrained. definately not one for me.

TJ

jdlenton

Dec 14, 2004
Northampton
that sounds ace I've done my fair share of SRT so I'm interested as to what you get up to but never heard of it before sorry

_scorpio_

Need to contact Admin...
Dec 22, 2009
east sussex UK
Arn't beech trees the ones that can drop branches and it is reccomended not to camp under them?
Alan
i was going to say they are quite good at dropping big branches at the wrong time... i can see the benefit of being in a tree when there are wolves and stuff around but i dont think a rabbit attack is a good enough excuse :D

addo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 8, 2006
Derbyshire
Im giving it a go this year at some point.
I'll take my tree climbing gear and a buddy with his, and kip in the hamock with the harness clipped into the line with a good anchor point when sleeping.

There were folks in america, in the 70's doing this at the top of 300' redwoods so a 50' oak will be very nicely chilled. :)