To Bergen or not to Bergen

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Cold&wet

May 16, 2013
Hertfordshire
Hi all, this is my first post so bare with me.

im just starting out in bushcraft and havent really got any experiance (hopefully soon to be fixed)

as i have a trip coming up im looking into buying my first acctual pack and have read good things in the forums about the british army 120L PLCE bergen but im worried ill abuse that 120L and carry lots of extra kit i dont really need. so ive also looked at the Highlander forces packs as a friend recomended them.

there are so many sizes and styles and im totaly overloaded with choices, HELP!?!?

widu13

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 9, 2008
Ubique Quo Fas Et Gloria Ducunt
I wouldn't want to walk anywhere with a 120 ltr bergan unless it was filled with feathers. However they are great from car to camp short distances and for use in winter when an issue doss bag takes up half of the room alone.

If you are going walking with the kit, I wouldn't get anything bigger than the NRT 66 (which are good bags for the money).

http://survivalaids.com/order1.php?pg=3756

Last edited:

Johnnyboy1971

Dec 24, 2010
Yorkshire
Being realistic how big do you need to go. Some people find 45ltr plenty for a weekend where others need bigger for the kit they carry.
How much do you want to spend and do you want a military style pack.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

rik_uk3

Banned
Jun 10, 2006
south wales
The Bergen is a great pack and you don't have to attatch the side pockets which cuts down the size. The basic pack with the side straps used is by no means a massive pack making it an ideal pack for you, go get one. As for comfort, well they ain't bad at all, a lot of the army lads have memories of hiking with a 50kg Bergen and moan but that won't happen to you.