Please help me build my first knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

smojo

Forager
Jan 19, 2014
West Yorkshire
Complete newbie here. I just bought a heat treated neck knife blank off Primitiveman here. Very nice it is too. I'm pretty handy with most things and got a decent set of tools. I've watched vids of knifemaking and got a rough idea of what I'm doing but need a bit of hand-holding so I don't make a big boo-boo. I thought it would be cool to post photos of my progress and see what advice you all can give me as I go along. That way it'll also be good for other first timers. Gonna try posting photos but last time I tried they didn't come out and all I got was a link.

Anyway here's the plan. I have cut down some scales on my bandsaw from a chunk of well seasoned laburnum that was growing in my garden some years ago. They are 10mm thick and my next job is to plane them down smooth and flatten them. They probably end up about 8 or 9 mm. First question then - is that a good thickness? The knife is gonna be a short neck knife so I'm not intending fitting a lanyard tube. I think a lanyard would get in the way on such a short handle and I'll eventually have a go at a sheath for it anyway. Got to find some 8mm brass rod for the handle pins now so off to local hardware shop this aft.

What is the first job to do on the blade please? Do I sand it to a bright smooth finish before attempting the grind. It's gonna be Scandi. Let's try a photo now.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/36802431@N04/12835278234/

Nah just a URL link. I think you have to be a full member to post direct maybe?

Last edited:

Paddytray

Settler
Jul 11, 2012
basingstoke