Panda's Attempt at Mead

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
First off I want to thank British Red for helping me out with what to get, how to do it and answering my many many questions. I am sure he has been waiting for me to let him know my results. :)

This is my first time brewing anything and it's one of my goals this year to at least make, mead, birch sap wine and sloe gin. So this is the first of the three on the go.

I will kind of give this as a tutorial/run through of what I did.

First of all the main thing is to sterilise the Demi-john. I got this one from a mate and it was pretty well soiled, so I first cleaned it with water and soap and that got rid of most of it. Then next I found a techniques used for cleaning using vinegar and rice and a lot of "shoogling" around. This apparently helps clean it. The third step to do is to sanitise the demi-john. On the label of the powder it recommended 12-24 hours for a well soiled bottle. So seeing as this bottle was left in a shed for many moons and was sitting in dirty water when we found it I thought I would play it safe.

Right after sterilising the main demi-john over night it was time to get the rest of the kit out and sterilised properly before use.

The equipment used is as follows:
- Air Lock
- 2x 1 Gallon Demi John one use for the primary fermentation and the second for the racking
- Rubber bungs, bored and solid
- Young’s Super Wine Yeast Compound
- Yeast Nutrient
- Pectolaze - Not used (Yet)
- Citric Acid Granuales
- Not forgetting the main ingredient of course! Honey!

Basically I added one teaspoon of the sanitiser to some warm water in the large pan, then I placed placed the bits and bobs in and waited ten mins or so. Pulled out the tub and glass for preparation of the yeast.