ND filters

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

brancho

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 20, 2007
Whitehaven Cumbria
What do you want to put them on?

THIS looks like it explains them OK

A kit is available HERE but cheaper filters can give colour cats. The ones linked I find OK but I have Cokin filters. If you can afford them Lee filters are see as the best.

I have a variable ND filter which is OK but not great but not too expensive either. They have their problems and they only fit one size.

I use ND graduated filters a lot to balance out skies from the land.

any questions?

spoony

Need to contact Admin...
Oct 6, 2005
tyne and wear
www.bike2hike.co.uk
Well im just starting out, bought a canon 450( in about 2009) and its pretty much sat in the box. Soooo i thought i would give it a try.
went to the beach to grab a few sunrise shots. Have a play. now i wanted to try a few long exposure shots, but couldnt get it, kept getting a white out. Or could get a pic but not the blur i wanted, my friend said to get those shots in this light i need a nd filter.
Now i know you getbwhat you pay for, but just wanted to try a not so expensive, and if i get what im looking for ill save and get a better one.
Dont really want the slot in types, would rather have the screw in type, so do i get a fixed grade ND 8 or a variable??
I want it for water blur, and shooting in bright sunlight for longer exposures.

brancho

Feb 20, 2007
Whitehaven Cumbria
The slot in types are better than screw in type filters as they can be fitted to various filter thread sizes.

Just hang around after sunset to try it out blurring starts at around 1/30 second. You can stack a couple of filters to achieve the effect.