Magic Mushrooms!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neil1

Oct 4, 2003
Sittingbourne, Kent
I have just put a picture up in my gallery of chantrelles that were picked today on a great wander up into a superb little woodland. Leon1 and Moonraker and I met up this morning and spent the day just foraging around, it was great just to get out with such great company.
The weather was great (but unbelievably mild for the end of October) and nature seems all a bit confused, some plants shedding leaves and others starting second growths.
Anyway the chantrelles were great and ended up in a nice carbonara this evening.
Neil

Nightwalker

Native
Sep 18, 2006
Cornwall, UK.
www.naturalbushcraft.co.uk
Hi Neil,

I found your photo, nice collection!
Im new to the world of fungi identification. I recently got my first fungi book by colins gem.

A few days ago I wacthed a video (here) that identified the "False Chantarelle".

I notice my book says Chanterelle the video says Chantarelle and you said Chantrelle. One of the first fungi I learn to identify and already I've found three different spellings for the thing! lol.

I notice you also called it "Magic Mushroom", I had no idea which fungi species people sometimes used as a drug so I looked up magic mushroom on wikipedia which told me the common magic-mushroom was the Psilocybe semilanceata. Also I looked up the False Chanterelle in my book and it said "A minority suffer from sickness and hallucinations". This is interesting to learn, so im guessing there are a few different species that have hallucinogenic properties? Also you mentioned you ate them? Do you find them hallucinogenic? Thanks for your time and help.

Neil1

Oct 4, 2003
Sittingbourne, Kent
Probably just bad spelling on my part, I have picked them many times before and they are a great tasting shroom. I only eat what I'm 100% sure of, and this is one I'm sure of.
Were'nt you guys off on a walk with a mycologist today?
How was it?
N

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005