Lightweight 2 person tent, dedicated porch and head room?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

hughtrimble

Jan 23, 2012
UK/France
Evening Bushcrafters,

I've been hammocking for several years now, but am planning a three day walking trip in the lake district where the flexibility of a tent will be needed. I have a tarp+bivi bag and a Carinthia Observer, but realistically, I think I'll be miserable in any of those when on the move for a few days (at a dedicated camp would be different...I'd also be in a hammock!).

I've been reading on here, watching YouTube videos and checking reviews, and it seems the things I'm after are:
  1. Up to 2.5kg total weight
  2. Silnylon (or better) Materials requirement removed as I now realise it's not as simple as silnylon being better than poly, there are benefits/negatives to both
  3. Fully covered full size porch section to get wet gear off in, store gear and cook (i.e. not the tiny triangular porches you get on so many tents)
  4. Genuine 2 person tent (because the mandatory porch area is for all the gear)
  5. Interior section peak height of 100cm or greater (so as to not be constantly rubbing the inner onto the inevitably wet outer when sitting)
  6. 3 season (whilst this trip is likely in the summer, I'd like to be able to use it at other times of year too)
  7. Outer pitch first (or all at once)
  8. Budget up to £400
Any suggestions that come to mind? Your advice would be very much appreciated.

Hugh

Last edited:

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion