Leather stitching.

Tengu

Jan 10, 2006
Wiltshire
I cheat.

I running stitch one way, then go back down for a double thread

I find this easier than proper saddle stitching...but is it as good? Is it authentic? Correct? Acceptable???

Also, when you are doing `proper` saddle stitching, how could you measure the thread? I have plenty of thread, but I obsess over wasting it.
(Hence the running stitch...uses up ends of thread)

birchwood

Nomad
Sep 6, 2011
Kent
To measure for saddle stitch use 3 times the length of your run of stitching, plus a bit on each end( 4 to 6 inches )for needle thread ends .
Using running stitch is neither authentic or correct saddle stitch,but whatever works for you.

Last edited:

dazcon

Nomad
Jan 8, 2010
clydebank
Depends what your stitching. I'm no expert. I've only stitched sheaths. Done about 20 now. Usually 4mm leather with a 4mm welt. I know your concerns. You don't want to run out of thread three quarters of the way through and don't want to have loads left over to throw in the bin. I use 8x the length of the run and saddle stitch. Not sure about how much for your method though.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
There is nothing wrong with using a running stitch for things that are not going to take a lot of hammer - saddle stitching is only really needed for "hard wear" projects .. such as saddles!
If you look at knife sheaths made of nylon (for example) the sewing is usually done in a fairly light nylon thread sewn with a machine "lock stitch". A sheath sewn with a saddle stitch is about 100 times stronger (guestimate) but the fabric sheath is the choice for "tactical" knives...
For most projects a running stitch would be more than strong enough and durable enough... however, if I was making a saddle or other harness that I wanted to have for the next 100 years and be strong enough to withstand my weight while bouncing around 6' from the ground at 40mph I would certainly use a saddle stitch!