Kit list for first overnight in the woods

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Barney Rubble

Settler
Sep 16, 2013
Rochester, Kent
youtube.com
Hi all,

Am preparing for my first overnighter in the woods and would love to hear your thoughts on my kit list. It's pretty basic as I'm just starting out and have been on a bit of a budget.

Shelter/Sleeping: polish lavvu, czech bedroll, go outdoors self inflating mat (cheapo), IPK groundsheet. Might get a fleece sleeping bag liner for extra warmth?

Cook kit: Swedish army trangia/mess kit with a cup, kfs, scourer, meths

Basic fire kit: containing lighter, matches, flint/steel birch bark, cotton wool balls

2-3litres of water

Food: coffee, flavoured teas, porridge/milk powder mix, choccy, cous cous, cooked sausage/chorizo.

Book and Hip flask with jura single malt!

Tools/accessories: hultafors heavy duty knife, sak huntsman, aldi folding saw, head torch, small torch for inside lavvu

FAK, raincoat (will dress appropriately to conditions and take warm layers for night time)

Rucksack: Swedish army lk35 - its a bit of a squeeze but most of the bag is taken up by the bedroll so I may consider swapping that for a smaller 3/4 season bag at some point. The lavvu will be wrapped in the ipk and strapped to the top of the rucksack. Great rucksack by the way, very tough, very comfy and far bigger than the numbers suggest.

Look forward to hearing what you think and learning about any glaring omissions!

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland