Is there anyone out there or Berkshire?

T

Tribaljamin

Hi people!

Im interested in meeting up with groups of bushcrafters in my area (Slough, Windsor, Maidenhead etc).

I have basic knowledge of what and what not to do, have spent a few nights out in the wild after making a shelter, lighting a fire (with help of a spark stick), catching food by fishing, shooting (air rifle) and berries and fruit. Have also gutted and skinned a deer (road kill).

All this was ages ago and I feel the need to get back into it.

So, are there groups / individuals / loners close to where I live who would be interested in meeting up, teaching me a few tips and tricks, going out and getting wild?

Also need to get some kit up together, so a bit of advice and help would be gratefully welcomed!

~I successfully made a yukon stove (but looking online, it wasnt a yukon stove, it was a hole in the ground, with a funny chimney thing that recirculated the smoke (which is unburnt fuel).~

jamesoconnor

Nomad
Jul 19, 2005
Hamilton, lanarkshire
Hi there,
i'm sure that there are a few people here from your neck of the wood's. I'm down in Reading often as my wife visits her sister down there ( i live in Glasgow). I should be heading down next month sometime and could maybe arange to meet up with you if nobody has stepped forward, which I doubt. :)

regards
James

T

Tribaljamin

James,
that sounds great! I'm off out over the next few weeks gathering kit and tools I know (at least I think I know) I'll need.
Good pair of boots (always used to wear Merrells or Salomons),
Some half decent clothes including trousers, coats, hats, socks,
I have an alrightish backpack, so should be ok on that front,
Sleep mat,
Bivvy bag,
Sleeping bag.

(things I know I will need, but will buy after I've got my hands dirty and think "Ahhh! - I could really do with one of them right now", include: Knife or knives, axe, first aid kit, bottles, pots, pans, stuff to make fire)

Couple of questions though;