Informed Choice of Knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

George B

Jun 15, 2005
Hello everyone, my first post, and also perhaps the most important.

I need your informed advice about which of these two knives to purchase for my bushcraft needs. These knives are the Helle Harding, and the EKA Nordic W11. As i am on a tight budget, i found the prices of these two were very reasonable(about £50 - £60), and the shape of the blades are very similar to the design pictured in my bushcraft book/manual.

However as i have no direct experience with either of them i'd really appreciate it if those of you, that have actual bushcraft experience with them, could direct me. Of course with my limited budget i'm looking for value for money, typical scotsman eh ;-)

I have searched through the forums already for info, and although both knives have been praised, the Helle knife (which i was more tempted to buy), has been said not to give good ferro rod sparks or was perhaps not good for batoning, as the handle was said to become loose.

So your help is required for an informed choice. Any advice from instructors out there would be appreciated too :)

Slimey

Tenderfoot
Apr 20, 2005
Hertfordshire
I'm no knife expert, but if you're on a tight budget you could do a lot worse than one of the Frost Mora's. You'll find some discussion on them elsewhere on the forum, including a source for them.

I got two a few weeks ago and they are very good indeed. They may not look as nice as the more expensive knives but they have good blades and are very tough. I got two delivered for just over a tenner.

Personally, I don't want to spend a lot on a knife yet, not until I'm more used to using and sharpening one, I do have my eye on a Lapp Puukko though :D

Simon

Treb

May 26, 2005
The Hague, the Netherlands