Hooped bivy help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

reddy

Tenderfoot
Dec 28, 2007
Lancashire
Hope you can give me some advise :)

I'm after a hooped bivi:

It needs to be under 2kg (or much less prefably) and no larger than 40 x 15cm packed as I travel very light.

It needs to be made of tough, heavy duty or non rip material and waterproof - Goretex prehaps?

It needs good ventilation or a mossie net set up.

I'd prefer it if it was camoflage or dark coloured.

I don't want to spend more than £150 if I can help it, but am willing to go up to £200 if I spot one that's absolutely amazing :D

I've seen some knocking about; at the moment I'm looking at a stratosphere, but I'm not an expert and would really appreciate some advice. Many thanks!

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Have a look at the snugpak stratosphere and do a search on ebay, there`s quite a few on there for between £70-90. Some are goretex and some aren`t so it depends what you want.

Here`s a quick search ...

"SAS" Goretex - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-SAS-Camo-...kparms=72%3A1298|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318

1 KG Falcon - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-1-Kg-FALC...14&_trkparms=72:1298|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318

Snugpak - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-Snugpak-S...14&_trkparms=72:1298|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London
I have been looking at this problem as well. In the long run I settled for the Gelert 'Solo' tent, which surprise, surprise is a hooped bivi. Dual skin very comfey, packs small and is about a kilo. Has a mozzie net and every thing else you need. Unlike a goretex one is not damp inside at the end of the night.

Oh yes, at under £25 new its a snip.

Sandsnakes

Kerne

Maker
Dec 16, 2007
Gloucestershire