Homebrew

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

johnnytheboy

Native
Aug 21, 2007
Falkirk
jokesblogspot.blogspot.com
Well amongst the hedgerow alcholic beverages I'm marinating in the kitchen I was thinking of doing some bottle of beer.

I have never done it before and had a pile of questions to ask.

Is it any good?
Do i need to buy any equipment?
Can I bottle it in wine bottles?
How do I clean old wine bottles?
Anything i need to know?

nickliv

Settler
Oct 2, 2009
Aberdeenshire
Well amongst the hedgerow alcholic beverages I'm marinating in the kitchen I was thinking of doing some bottle of beer.

I have never done it before and had a pile of questions to ask.

Is it any good?

It can be excellent

Do i need to buy any equipment?

A fermenting vessel, cleaner, brewers yeast, hygrometer

Can I bottle it in wine bottles?

Not unless you like picking glass out of your face. They won't take the pressure, and will blow up. Or blow the cork out.

How do I clean old wine bottles?

Don't (See above) Use clean 2 litre PET bottles. They'll take heaps and heaps of pressure. To clean them, you can use the sterilising solution, or Milton.
Anything i need to know?

Keep everything clean. And I do mean clean. Start with a kit, the Coopers ones are pretty reliable.

Jimsbeerkit.co.uk is a fair place to pop up and ask questions

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
Hi Johnny,

There are a vast number of ways to make home made beer. The best way to start is a kit - and then move on later to all grain brewing if you want to start from scratch.