Graphics Tablets

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pentrekeeper

Forager
Apr 7, 2008
North Wales
Well just got one, Wacom Intuos3 A5 size, idea being to use it with photoshop and autocad etc.
Anyone else use these devices to manipulate/work on images ?
I have got to get used to it yet, but my first impressions are very favourable, you get a pen and mouse that can be used on the surface to control the curser. The whole of the screen is mapped to the tablet so you can close and open programs, browse the internet just using the pen if you want.
Any tips to speed up the learning curve would be handy.
Would be interested to hear other peoples views on these devices.
Right then, going back to playing with my new toy now.:D

mick miller

Jan 4, 2008
Herts.
Yep, I've been using one for the last 14 years. No tips other than don't drop anything on the tablet or press too hard (for instance writing a letter on top of the tablet with a ball point pen) as this can (and usually will) damage the internals in some way, often creating a dead spot.

Otherwise, you'll soon find that the mouse is a crappy tool, I use the tablet for most applications these days. I have a A4 one at home and a whopping A3 jobby at work, never tried an A5 so you'll have to let us know how you get on.

In photoshop you simply have so much more control over the tools and pressures. In Illustrator it makes drawing a breeze. How the hell can you draw with a mouse anyway?

Cobweb

Native
Aug 30, 2007
South Shropshire
I have the A4 Version, I would be lost without it :)
The mouse takes a bit of getting used to at first, but it's great when you have the hang of it.
The pen, oh wow, the pen. It's the best thing since sliced bread. For dodging & burning right up to liquify and colour replacement, it's so much better than a mouse and the control is superb!