First spoon and two carvings

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tye Possum

Nomad
Feb 7, 2009
Canada
Ok so I've only done a couple carving type things but I figured I'd post pictures of them because I've finally figured out how to!

My first carving, I just used a swiss army knife and carved it while camping and then ruined it IMO by trying to do some woodburning on it. It's a wood spirit I guess.
38DA3C2C.jpg

Then I tried another one but I used a couple small gouges for the beard this time, I also didn't try out anymore woodburning on it. I think it looks like he's sleeping so he's a sleeping wood spirit I guess.
B75A963D.jpg

864FF0D9.jpg

And here's the spoon I made recently that I've been bugging people about, nothing too special, it's my first try though and I like it. Haven't oiled it yet.
136AEF1A.jpg

F13C8053.jpg

E34E9638.jpg

I tried using my new crook knife to carve the bowl but either I was being too cautious or I let the wood dry too much because I could barely make a dent in it. Luckily I have a small set of gouges and chisels (small ones) and so I used a... Well I guess it was a U gouge. The tree I used was just a sapling though so I didn't have a choice about leaving the middle of the tree in or not, so I guess I just wait and hope that it doesn't crack.
Thanks for looking.

Sean Hellman

Tenderfoot
Apr 19, 2009
devon
www.seanhellman.com