First BushMoot this year - what do I need?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Eragon21

May 30, 2009
Aberdare
All

I would be greatful if any of you could help, I am new to Bushcraft and could do with help on the type of things that I will need to get in order for me to enjoy the BushMoot that little bit more and not worry about the things that I need or when I get there about the things that I ought to have got.

Any help would be appreciated and although I am looking to do alot of outdoor stuff with the family I don't want at this time the spend a fortune, and would like the get the minimum for the BushMoot and build my collection up through experience.

Thanks in advance for any input that you have, it will not be ignored and apologies up front if I ask silly questions.

Gareth

We were all new once, please have patience with me.

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
I took a couple of bags of firewood down with me last year, but didn't use them. There was plenty of felled timber lying around which, with a bowsaw and axe or knife for splitting, served well, so I probably won't take any wood with me this year. Where I camped we grouped together and had a communal fire, so you may not end up cutting all of the wood for yourself. Also if, as we tried, you make a star fire lay, you don't even need to cut the logs.

Apart from that, basic camping gear should suffice. There's LOTS of room, you can pitch tents and there are many places you can put up a hammock and/or tarp. Only issue may be if you have a very large frame tent, but there should be sufficient flat space for smaller ones.

There are very few facilities on site - a toilet /shower /wash block and drinking water taps.