Edible fungi - some basic guidelines

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Harvestman

Bushcrafter through and through
May 11, 2007
Pontypool, Wales, Uk
Apologies if this has been done before, but there seem to be a lot of new members about asking questions about edible fungi (its that time of year), so I thought I'd post up some guidelines on how to be sensible about harvesting wild mushrooms.

I'm no fungi expert, but I have been collecting them for over 20 years, and I'm still alive, so I reckon I know a bit about it.

These are rules for the UK, as I am aware that continentals have the excellent system of pharmacists who are trained to do fungus identification for you. Wish we had that over here.

Rule 1. There are no quick and easy rules. Either you know what it is, or you don't. If you don't, or there is any uncertainty at all, DON'T EAT IT.

Get a book, go on a course, get someone to teach you. Learn a few that you can recognise reliably, and proceed from there Learn the deadly ones too, so you know what to avoid.

Being 'sure' isn't good enough. 100% certainty that the mushroom you intend to eat is safe is the only acceptable level of safety. Learning to say "I don't know/I'm not sure" and then leaving it behind is probably the most important skill of all. You'll miss out on a treat now and then by doing that, but you will also avoid nasty mistakes. I've made those mistakes, and I'd recommend that you avoid them.

2. Never eat a wild mushroom raw, or in the field. Take it home, and double check it against your reference source (book, friend, etc). Check twice, eat once. That way you avoid mistakes. This simple rule has saved me from eating something unpleasant many times.