Candle Recycling

TomBartlett

Spoon worrier
Jun 13, 2009
Madison, WI
www.sylvaspoon.com
I've got a few candle 'husks' around the house. I was thinking of melting them down and making a new candle out of them. Can't chuck them away, obviously! So I was wondering, what should I use as a wick? Will anything do, or do some materials wick better than others?

calibanzwei

Settler
Jan 7, 2009
Warrington, UK
As a poor student I used string from the poundshop - cut the top off a beer can, stuck it on an electric hob and melted down the stubs. Add some Brut/Old Spice to taste ( :D ) and hang the weighted string (a nut will do) from cutlery in the centre on the can and allow to cool.

Shaggadelic!

Bushwhacker

Banned
Jun 26, 2008
Dorset
The missus got one of those Glade smelly candles in a glass jar a while back. The wick burnt down in no time (3 nights) leaving probably half the wax still in the jar, what a rip off!
I chucked a couple of lit birch shavings into the jar and got more than double the life out of it for minimal effort.

Last edited:

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
I've used ordinary string, plaited into a thicker wick if necessary. Don't use too thin a wick, otherwise you'll just get a very small flame.

I melt the wax in a (washed!) tin can sat in a pan of boiling water, then pour it into a suitable sized plastic container with the wick fixed to the bottom of the container (e.g. poked through a very small hole - if the hole is small, you'll only get a small amount of wax leaking before it sets) and held vertical by fixing it to a pencil laid across the top of the container. For chunky candles, you may need to do a second pouring, as the wax contracts on cooling, so you get a dip in the centre.

Geoff

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire